• Wadadamedia User Guide

    Overview

    Signing up to a Wadadamedia site should be very straight forward.

    The typical flow is:

    • click on the 'Create Account' button
    • enter your details, Name, email address and a password

    1. What Is A Profile?

    A Profile is where you upload all your content to.

    This is your location on the site. You will see buttons on your profile for each of the modules that the admin use has enabled for you. See example in screenshot below

    In the screenshot above you can see the profile for the user account that was created when we signed up.

    There is a Timeline which is similar to Twitter. You can write directly to it from the box displayed (Broadcast it) and that will be visible to people who visit your profile. If those users then Follow you they will see your updates each time you write one in their own timeline.

    The first step in making your profile your own is to upload a profile image.

    2. Add a Profile Image

    Click on the gear icon, this will take you to your profile settings page where you can upload a profile image.

    Upload you Profile Image and your cover image see screen below.

    Save the changes and you will be taken back to your profile with your new screen showing.


    Page 1


    The sections of a profile

    When you signup to a Wadadamedia, you get a profile. Here we take a look at the sections of a profile.

    The purpose of this doc is to get the user familiar with the location where they can upload media to.

    1. Profile Buttons

    On your profile you can see that there are a series of buttons that are a main focus point of the system. There is one button each for every module that your profile is allowed to use.

    The buttons highlighted in the screenshot above show the modules that are available for this profile to use.

    Clicking on any of the buttons will take you to that section of your profile. All the media under each button is your media.

    There are other profiles on the system, if you want to go look at what other profiles have uploaded then you can visit those buttons on their profile, but all these buttons on your profile are yours.

    If you want to upload some Gallery images to your profile, click on the Gallery button.

    If you want to add another page to your profile, click on the Pages button.

    If you want to add a youtube video to your profile, click on the Youtube button.

    If you want to add a audio to your profile, click on the Audio button.

    If you want to add a video to your profile, click on the Video button.

    What will be displayed is a list all of the items you have created to date. Since that is currently none, you will just see the + create button.

    When someone who isn't you visits your profile, they will only see the buttons for locations that you have created something at.

    So for a visitor to your profile, it would look like this:

    2. Empty profile sections don't show

    As you can see in the screenshot above, only sections where you have created somethings that will show when a visitor comes to you profile. When a visitor visits your profile, they will see what you have added as a timeline entry which happened automatically when you added something new and they will see the related profile button to view what you added.


    Page 2


    User vs Profile

    In Wadadamedia, there is the concept of Users and Profiles. The User is the person who uploads stuff to a profile.

    When you created your account on a wadadamedia site, you got both a Profile and a User account.

    The Profile is where your uploaded media and items go, its your public facing section.

    The User is your connection information like your email address, your name and password.

    When you write comments, its the User who writes comments. When you buy things, its the User who buys things.

    You get an image for each.

    1. Upload a User image

    When you setup your profile in the earlier section you uploaded a Profile image that shows on your profile.

    Now we're going to upload a different image for our User Account. (wadadamedia will automatically make your Profile image your User image until you upload a different one)

    To access you user account click on your profile icon as shown on screenshot below, on the drop down click on “Account Settings”

    2. Account Settings

    On your Account Settings tab, you will find your email address along with the rest of the info you added at signup time.

    Click on the 'Upload a New Image' button to add your User Image that will show when you add things to your timeline, or when you comment in the forums or on other Profiles.

    3. New User Image Showing as shown on screenshot below


    Page 3


    How to use your Profile?

    On your Profile you will see buttons. These are things that you can add.

    On your profile you will find a series of sections laid out as a series of buttons.

    Each of these buttons corresponds to a module that the wadadamedia has allocated to your profile. You can create items in these sections.

    Only the profile owner can see all the buttons available to the profile. Any visitor to your profile will only see the buttons that have content created on it.

    So if you can see the Blog button, but have yet to write a blog post, visitors will not see that button when they visit your profile.

    To create an item for any of the sections on your profile, go to that section by clicking the section button. When you are on the section you will see + click on the + button to create something.

    1. Creating a new item

    In the screenshot above, you can see the sections, TIMELINE, BLOG, VIDEO, AUDIO, PAGES, YOUTUBE, etc.

    If we take a look at the VIMEO section, it will start out being empty. You will see there is a + button there for you to add vimeo videos to this section though.

    Click the + button to add a vimeo video to the VIMEO section on your profile.

    The CREATE form will open where you fill out all the details to create the new item. For the vimeo we only needed to add the URL of the vimeo video as shown in screenshot below

    Since you clicked the CREATE button from the VIMEO section of your profile, the form will create a new Vimeo Video. The same process works for most modules the same way. To create a BLOG post, go to the BLOG section and click the + button from there to see the blog create form.

    Note: Only sections with items created on them will be visible to your profile visitors. They will not see the PAGE button on your profile if that section is empty.

    2. Profile sections show a list of items

    After creating a Vimeo video on your profile, the next time you visit that section you will see a list of all the pages you have created. Only a short snippet of the page will show along with a link to visit the full page.

    Now visitors to your profile will see the VIMEO button and be able to click on it to view all of the pages that you have created.

    3. Updating and Deleting an item

    When the owner of the profile clicks on any of the created items, they will be able to see the buttons to UPDATE and DELETE that item in its header bar.

    The UPDATE icon looks like a gear while the delete icon looks like a trash can. Updating and Deleting an item

    When the owner of the profile clicks on any of the created items, they will be able to see the buttons to UPDATE and DELETE that item in its header bar.

    The UPDATE icon looks like a gear while the DELETE icon looks like a trash can, as shown in the screenshot below

    Visitors to the items main page will be able to leave comments and interact with the item.

    What options are available depends on what the site admin has turned on.

    Visitors to the items main page will be able to leave comments and interact with the item.

    What options are available depends on what the site admin has turned on.

    4. Follow and Timeline

    There is a special section which functions like Twitter if you have ever used that. Its the TIMELINE section.

    Here you will be able to write status updates of things you want others to know about.

    Anybody who has clicked the FOLLOW button on your profile will be notified in their TIMELINE when you write a message to your TIMELINE.

    The FOLLOW button will be visible on other peoples profiles when you visit them.


    Page 4


  • Sponsored